Fourth of July

Utah is tinderbox dry these days and so yesterday’s Fourth of July festivities lacked the fireworks I so love and look forward to. However, it wasn’t all bad since I got to spend the night up at Bear Lake on the Utah/Idaho border and I genuinely wish I’d had more time up there. Bear Lake is stunningly blue and beautiful and seeing as Utah is a land-locked state it was the closest I’ve come to spending the Fourth on a beach. After blowing up my floaty device I allowed the sun and the water and the sounds of water recreation lull me into a vacation-like trance until dinner.

Due to our lack of rain we had to rely on the kindness of others to cook our steak and corn on the cob dinner since open fires and charcoal briquettes are banned in the state of Utah. Our campsite hostess was more than obliging and let us use her gas grill. Despite nearly not being able to cook our dinner it turned out to be absolutely wonderfully delicious! Since fireworks weren’t happening we took a walk along the water until the moon came up and then we tucked into our campsite for the night.

Although it was a pretty mellow celebration there are a number of things we can be seriously thankful for. We live in a place where we are free to roam the nation; we can pack up and go anywhere we want. I live in a place where I can go buy my meat and vegetables without thinking twice, grill them up and eat freely. I have a job, I have time off, I have decent health care and no one is bombing my street. My mellow Fourth reminded me that being born in America is the best thing that ever happened to me. Everything else that happens is just icing on the cake!

One thought on “Fourth of July

Leave a Reply

